Pattern and Structure Mathematics Awareness Program (PASMAP) Book 2

ISBN13 : 9781742862491

Author(s) : Joanne Mulligan and Michael Mitchelmore

Publisher : ACER Press, 2016

SKU : A5345BK

In stock

The Pattern and Structure Mathematical Awareness Program (PASMAP) is a network of related learning experiences developed for children in the first three years of formal schooling (Foundation to Year 2). PASMAP focuses on developing children's awareness of the patterns and structures that underlie the concepts and processes common to the early Australian Curriculum: Mathematics strands.

PASMAP is based on research evidence that the foundation of mathematical development is an awareness of mathematical pattern and structure, and that engaging children in exploring core patterns and their structure leads to an improvement in general mathematical understanding.

It is organised as a series of learning sequences, each of which consists of a number of learning experiences focused on a particular aspect of one or more early mathematics structures:

  • Sequences
  • Shape and alignment
  • Equal spacing
  • Structured counting
  • Partitioning

These learning sequences are grouped into multiple learning pathways, with each one a journey through a set of related learning experiences.

PASMAP can be used in conjunction with ACER's Pattern and Structure Assessment (PASA), which measures awareness of mathematical pattern and structure. After testing children with PASA, teachers can use their results to help select the most effective PASMAP learning sequences for their students. They can also see which students may need additional support, and which students may be challenged to explore ideas more deeply.

PASMAP Book Two is mainly intended for children in Years 1 and 2.

Joanne Mulligan and Michael Mitchelmore